Dear Colleagues ,


The International Astronautical Federation (IAF) would like to kindly remind you that the Call for Nominations for the Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal is still open till Friday 12 February 2016 and we kindly encourage you to consider nominations.


The Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal recognises outstanding contributions to space education by an educator who promotes the study of astronautics and space science. The most important criterion for this award is that an educator “has taken the fullest advantage of the resources available to him/her to promote the study of astronautics and related space sciences”.


The first winner, of which my father would have very much approved was Sharon Krista McAuliffe (First Teacher in Space, posthumously, USA) – my father was an ardent

promoter of peaceful uses of outer space.

The Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal comprises an engraved commemorative medal and a certificate of citation.

The detailed nomination process is available here.
More information about the Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal.
Nomination material should be sent before 12 February 2016 15:00 CET (Paris time) to the IAF Secretariat, preferably by email at .
or by Fax to +33 1 4273 2120 or by postal mail to:
IAF Secretariat
3 rue Mario Nikis
75015 Paris

For further Information about the IAF Honours and Awards programmes, please contact the IAF Secretariat at

We look forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
IAF Secretariat



2015 Recipient

Prof. Boris Pschenichner


Frank J. Malina Astronautics Medal recipients include:

  • 2014 Bryan Debates (USA)
  • 2013 John M. Logsdon (USA)
  • 2012 Amelia Ercoli-Finzi (Italy)
  • 2011 Yves Gourinat (France)
  • 2010 Jean-Marie Wersinger (USA)
  • 2009 Barbara Morgan (USA)
  • 2008 Anne Brumfitt (Australia)
  • 2007 Peter M. Bainum (USA)
  • 2006 Tetsuo Yasaka (Japan)
  • 2005 G.P. “Bud” Peterson (USA)
  • 2004 Eugene Dzhur (Ukraine)
  • 2003 William A. Hiscock (USA)
  • 2002 Sir Martin Sweeting (UK)
  • 2001 Carlo Buongiorno (Italy)
  • 2000 Roland Doré (Canada)
  • 1999 John L. Junkins (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • 1998 Kiran Karnik (ISRO, India)
  • 1997 Vladimir V. Prisniakov and Skip Fletcher (Ukraine/Texas A&M University, USA)
  • 1996 Julius E. Dash and Prof. Motocki Hinada (Oregon State University, USA/Institute of Space & Astro Science, Japan)
  • 1995 John L. Whitesides (The George Washington University, USA)
  • 1994 Richard A. Seebass (University of Colorado, USA)
  • 1993 Hans H. Von Muldau (PFIAT, Germany)
  • 1992 Oleg M. Alifanov and Dr. Willy Sadeh (Moscow Aviation Institute, Russia/Colorado State University, USA)
  • 1991 Gerald M. Gregoreck (USA)
  • 1990 no recipient
  • 1989 no recipient
  • 1988 André Lebeau (Météo France, France)
  • 1987 Luigi G. Napolitano (University of Naples, Italy)
  • 1986 Sharon Krista McAuliffe (First Teacher in Space, posthumously, USA)

Leave a Reply